En Fr
  • 1.

    The Sensual City path

  • 2.

    The climate

  • 3.

    Built landscapes

  • 4.

    On the waterside

  • 5.

    In the sky

  • 6.

    Movement and balance

  • 7.

    Nightscape

    The incessant activity of contemporary urban civilisation has changed our perception of the night. City nights are no longer moments of silence, rest and darkness. In movement 24 hours a day, today’s cities have no time out … This stockpiling of night time has been made possible by the development of urban street lighting, a measure that has pushed darkness back into the countryside, far from urban areas. As a result, daytime economic activities are being progressively extended and the time temps devoted to leisure increased. Some people, with good reason, believe that the urban night has lost its enchantment. Light is the indispensable auxiliary of surveillance and control systems. It reinforces the powers of the eye, already very powerful during the day, and leaves little place for the other senses. But we perceive the night in another manner, as a shaping of light. Night-light is quite different from day-light because it is not a light from a single point, that of the sun. It comes from a multitude of different sources introduced by mankind. And it is the glittering random interplay of artificial light on the city’s surfaces that give the urban night all its poetry through flashing signs and glowing neons. Nothing remains the same once night has fallen: well-known spaces (parks, roads and buildings) take on a new and sometimes strange appearance, and these transformations awaken our senses. We become aware of other sounds, other smells. The night stimulates our perceptive capacities and allows us to reinvent what is around us, to experience the city in a new way.

    • 7.1.

      Proposals

      • 7.1.1.

        LENS 108

      • 7.1.2.

        THE THIRD PLACE

        T X T

        Competition │ Paris │ France │ 2015

        with Jacques Ferrier Architecture, Terrell Ingénierie, Franck Boutté Consultants, Structure Production and Town Partners

        “Imagine the dream of rediscovered fluidity and porosity. Something built on the transformation of time, objects, bodies, and not based on permanent confrontation. On the contrary: a sense of permanence, yes: a contemporary place for bartering. A place for making ‘deals’, where knowledge is traded for lack of knowledge. Material is traded for the immaterial.
        Imagine spending time in a ‘mixer’ where, for example, you come across performances the moment you come out of work. Or before getting to work.
        Writing workshops during a lunch break, which continue in private during ‘working hours’ and finish in a group of 200 in the public space. Imagine that a poem could be used as currency. Or ten minutes of dancing.
        The spaces where we eat should be participative. 20 minutes peeling vegetables would earn you a free soup.
        We must draw inspiration from the pawn shops of old: deposit something which can be used for a short time in exchange for a small sum of money. This small sum of money can be used to acquire something else. Drop off a drill to acquire a sandwich.
        We must take inspiration from sociologist Marcel Mauss and his study on gifts and counter-gifts. I give you something and you give something in return with a slight surplus. This surplus enables me to give the next person slightly more in exchange for a little less. Etc.
        We need to imagine other economies not strictly based on the exchange of money. Watching a show and helping to clear up afterwards. Visiting an artist’s studio and making them something to eat afterwards. Inviting a philosopher, a scientist, a journalist, an athlete over and making them something to eat. Or singing for them. Food and thought go hand in hand.
        Kitchens should allow all artistic forms to permeate through them: poetry, performance, theatre, dance, art, music, cinema, revues. Breakfast, lunch, dinner.
        Art needs to be part of everyday life. Part of social life.
        We should be able to rest, take a nap, in a space where artists are working.
        We should be able to sleep in a sculptor’s workshop. Or a choreographer’s.
        We should be able.
        We should be able to do things that aren’t the done things. We should do everything that seems impossible.
        We need to open up. Open up. Open up. We now need to find another way of ‘plugging into’ the networks of life.
        And, in charge, we should have women, young people, and all the diversity of France.”
        Pascal Rambert, author, stage director, film director, choreographer and Artistic Director of Gennevilliers theatre.

        I M G
      • 7.1.3.

        LAMBERT FOUNDATION

      • 7.1.4.

        LA PARISIENNE

    • 7.2.

      Fresco

    • 7.3.

      Leitmotiv

  • 8.

    The materiality of cities

  • 9.

    News

  • 10.

    Informations

  • 11.

    Index

En Fr
  • 1.

    La ville sensuelle

  • 2.

    Climat

  • 3.

    Paysages construits

  • 4.

    Au bord de l’eau

  • 5.

    Dans le ciel

  • 6.

    Mouvement et équilibre

  • 7.

    La nuit

    L’activité incessante de notre civilisation urbaine contemporaine a changé notre perception de la nuit. Ainsi, la nuit des villes n’est plus un temps de silence, de repos et d’obscurité. Actives 24h/24h, les villes d’aujourd’hui ne connaissent aucun temps mort… Cet accaparement du temps nocturne a été rendu possible par le développement de l’éclairage urbain qui a repoussé l’obscurité jusqu’à la faire disparaitre complètement des zones urbaines. Les activités économiques du jour se sont de fait progressivement prolongées et le temps dévolu aux loisirs s’est accru. Certains estimeront non sans raison que la nuit urbaine est désenchantée. La lumière est l’auxiliaire indispensable des dispositifs de surveillance et de contrôle. Elle renforce les pouvoirs de l’œil, déjà tout puissant le jour, et laisse peu de place aux autres sens. Mais nous percevons la nuit autrement : comme une mise en forme de la lumière. Car la lumière nocturne n’est pas de même nature que celle du jour. Ce n’est pas une lumière provenant d’une source unique, le soleil. Elle provient d’une multitude de faisceaux issus de moyens techniques mis en œuvre par l’homme. Et c’est le jeu de scintillements aléatoires de la lumière artificielle sur les surfaces de la ville qui confèrent à la nuit urbaine toute sa poésie, là où règnent les enseignes lumineuses, dans le pouvoir du néon… La nuit, tout se transforme : les espaces connus (parcs, rues, bâtiments) prennent un aspect nouveau et parfois singulier. Et ces transformations mettent nos sens en éveil. Nous prêtons attention à d’autres sons, d’autres odeurs. La nuit stimule nos facultés à appréhender les perceptives, à les réinventer en en prenant possession par nos sens, et nous fait vivre la ville autrement.

    • 7.1.

      Propositions

      • 7.1.1.

        REINVENTER PARIS RIVE-GAUCHE

        T X T

        Concours │ Paris │ France │ 2015

        « On pourrait imaginer le rêve de fluidité et porosité retrouvé. Quelque chose bâti sur la transformation du temps des objets des corps et non sur la confrontation permanente.
        Au contraire : une permanence oui : un lieu de troc contemporain. Un lieu de «deal» où s’échange du savoir contre du non savoir. Du matériel contre de l’immatériel.

        Il faut imaginer du temps dans un «shaker» où se croisent par exemple des performances quand on sort du travail. Ou avant qu’on y entre.
        Des ateliers d’écriture qui se font pendant la pause déjeuner, qui se continuent en privé pendant les «working hours» et qui se terminent à 200 dans l’espace public. Il faut imaginer qu’un poème puisse être monnaie d’échange. Dix minutes de danse également.
        Il faut que les espaces où l’on se nourrit soient participatifs. 20 minutes pour éplucher des légumes égal une soupe gratuite.
        Il faut s’inspirer des anciens Monts de piété : on apporte quelque chose, qui est déposé et utilisé pour un temps contre une petite somme. Cette petite somme permet d’acquérir autre chose. Une perceuse déposée = un sandwich.
        Il faut s’inspirer du sociologue Marcel Mauss et de son étude du don et du contre don. Je te donne quelque chose tu me donnes quelque chose avec un léger surplus. Ce surplus me permet de donner plus au prochain contre un petit peu moins. Etc.
        Il faut imaginer d’autres formes économiques qui ne passent pas strictement par l’échange d’argent. Assister à un spectacle et aider à ranger après. Visiter l’atelier d’un artiste et lui faire à manger à la fin. Inviter un philosophe, un scientifique, un journaliste, un sportif pour une rencontre et lui faire à manger. Ou chanter pour lui. La nourriture va avec la pensée.
        Il faut que les cuisines soient poreuses avec toutes les formes artistiques : poésie, performance, théâtre, danse, art, musique, cinéma, revue. Petit déjeuner, déjeuner, dîner.
        Il faut relier l’art à la vie ordinaire. Au social.
        Il faut pouvoir se reposer, faire une sieste, dans un espace où des artistes travaillent.
        Il faut pouvoir dormir dans l’atelier d’un plasticien. Ou d’un chorégraphe.
        Il faut pouvoir.
        Il faut pouvoir faire ce qui ne se fait pas. Tout ce qui semble impossible il faut le faire.
        Il faut ouvrir. Ouvrir. Ouvrir. Il faut maintenant «plugger» les réseaux de la vie, autrement.

        Avec aux commandes : les femmes, les jeunes et la diversité Française.»

        Pascal Rambert, auteur, metteur en scène, réalisateur, directeur du théâtre de Gennevilliers

        I M G
      • 7.1.2.

        FONDATION LAMBERT

      • 7.1.3.

        WE LOVE SENSUAL CITY

      • 7.1.4.

        LA PARISIENNE

    • 7.2.

      Fresque

    • 7.3.

      Leitmotive

  • 8.

    Matière des villes

  • 9.

    Actualités

  • 10.

    Informations

  • 11.

    Index