En Fr
  • 1.

    The Sensual City path

    Extending an approach we have taken in a number of urban projects, we consider that each urban situation provides an opportunity to explore a conceptual framework based on the way that people will inhabit the city of tomorrow. Our starting point is to examine current and potential future ways of living, working, travelling and consuming in the city. Our aim, prior to designing any forms, is to create an environment that permits diversity and changing uses, and to incorporate these into a specific geography and historical context. The intention is to replace a geometric urbanism with an urbanism based on atmospheres, materialities and context in a way that intermingles architecture and landscape. And that uses the most advanced technologies to create a sensual city.

    The Sensual City is a project that answers the urgent question of what urban planning should be both today and tomorrow. The urban culture developed in the 20th century is steadily expanding and over half the world’s population now lives in cities, a proportion that is continually increasing and causing functional problems on an unprecedented scale. It is a situation that threatens our planet’s resources, as well as the way we live together in cities.
    In the western world, there is a need to go beyond the traditional model of the historical urban model –European and American- , take a fresh look not only at the city core, but also at the suburbs, the infrastructure, the transportation systems… and accept that they represent a fully-fledged contemporary urban landscape. Throughout the world and on all continents, giant cities with over ten million inhabitants are taking form. In the 21st century, hundreds of millions of people will find themselves living in an exclusively urban environment, an artificial universe in which technology will be omnipresent. The modernist city, placing emphasis on infrastructures and zoning, will deploy its ordinary, internationalist architecture throughout the planet and mass-produce urban worlds completely lacking in quality. Elsewhere, cities find themselves governed by nostalgia ; there are many towns in Europe and North America that suffer from this fate.
    With the Sensual City, our intention is to develop an alternative approach, one in which technology is not obtrusive nor an end in itself. On the contrary, as technology is perfected it becomes invisible, it disappears from view and allows people to live in cities that can be construed as built landscapes, designed to offer a full sensorial experience. The city becomes an environment that incorporates a high level of sustainable development as well as a setting where people can take pleasure in living together and relate to its history as the founding source of civilization. To achieve these ends, it is essential that the city be deeply rooted to its specific culture, climate and geography.

    • 1.1.

      Debate

    • 1.2.

      Proposals

      • 1.2.1.

        A HISTORY OF THRESHOLDS: LIFE, DEATH & REBIRTH

      • 1.2.2.

        ARCHITECTURE AS NON-OPPRESSIVE DESIGN

      • 1.2.3.

        MINDWALKS

      • 1.2.4.

        THE SENSUAL STATION

        T X T

        Delivered │ Paris │ France │ 2012

        With the launch of the international consultation for stations in the Greater Paris area, the Studio found the ideal context for the deployment of its philosophical concepts associated with the sensual city. The scheme was intended to define stations according to the specific features of the environment in which they are located, to deliver efficient and user-friendly spaces for the use of travellers, which are both open to the city and marked by common characteristics for the entire network. While the quality of public facilities and their incorporation into the urban environment are of fundamental importance, the scheme will also sow the seeds for the achievement of a new and urbane quality. Based upon the pursuit of atmospheric urban development, the Studio therefore couched its proposal in terms of the humanistic perspective which informs its policy. This position provides a response to the apparent contradiction in the brief, which emphasizes the creation of a specific and shared identity for stations on the GPE, whilst requiring compliance with the commitment to local municipal authorities that each station should be rooted in its respective territory. By transposing the formal recognition of facilities into an approach based upon the perception of space – the quality of air, light, sounds, smells and textures – the JFA-SCS group has expressed the all-encompassing qualities of the network in terms of shared ambiances and sensory experiences, rather than in terms of form. This approach gives a substantially free rein to the creativity of the future designers, who will be guided in their decisions by three charters which are intended to ensure the standardization of all stations on the future metro network: the architecture and development charter, the spatial design charter, and the facilities integration charter, established by SCS.

        ]

        I M G
        V I D
      • 1.2.5.

        FRENCH PAVILION SHANGHAI EXPO 2010

      • 1.2.6.

        BELLE MEDITERRANÉE

      • 1.2.7.

        INVISIBLE CITIES

    • 1.3.

      Films

    • 1.4.

      Conferences

  • 2.

    The climate

  • 3.

    Built landscapes

  • 4.

    On the waterside

  • 5.

    In the sky

  • 6.

    Movement and balance

  • 7.

    Nightscape

  • 8.

    The materiality of cities

  • 9.

    News

  • 10.

    Informations

  • 11.

    Index

En Fr
  • 1.

    La ville sensuelle

    Dans la continuité de la réflexion que nous avons menée sur les projets urbains sur lesquels nous avons travaillé, chaque situation urbaine est pour nous l’occasion d’explorer une démarche conceptuelle qui prend pour base la place de l’homme dans la ville de demain. Les modes actuels -et prochains- de déplacement, d’habiter, de travail, de consommation sont les points de départ de notre approche. Créer un cadre à la diversité et à l’évolution des usages, et l’inscrire dans une géographie et une histoire, est le préalable à toute formalisation. Il s’agit de remplacer l’urbanisme de géométrie par un urbanisme d’atmosphères, de matérialités, de contexte, mêlant architecture et paysage ; mobiliser les technologies de pointe pour créer une ville sensuelle.

    La Ville Sensuelle est un projet qui répond à la question urgente de ce que doit être l’urbanisme aujourd’hui. La culture urbaine dans laquelle l’homme s’est installé au 20ème siècle prend en effet une ampleur nouvelle. Plus de la moitié de la population mondiale vit actuellement dans des villes, proportion qui n’a de cesse de croître et qui entraîne des problèmes de fonctionnement à une échelle jamais vue jusqu’alors, et met en péril non seulement les ressources de notre planète mais aussi la vie collective dans la cité.
    En Europe il s’agit de dépasser le modèle de la ville historique, et porter un œil neuf sur la périphérie comme véritable paysage urbain contemporain. Ailleurs dans le monde, plusieurs cités géantes, au-delà de dix millions d’habitants, se déploient sur tous les continents. Au 21ème siècle, des centaines de millions d’habitants vont ainsi vivre dans le seul univers urbain, un univers artificiel dont la technologie sera l’omniprésente raison d’être. La ville moderniste, faisant la part belle aux infrastructures et au zoning, déploie son architecture banale et internationale aux quatre coins de la planète et fabrique à la chaîne des mondes urbains sans qualité. Ailleurs c’est la nostalgie qui l’emporte. La ville en France, n’échappe pas à la remise en cause. Chaque nouveau projet est donc une opportunité pour innover et être exemplaire La réflexion sur la Ville Sensuelle est de rendre possible une autre approche. Une approche où la technique n’est pas une fin en soi et ne s’impose pas. Au contraire, en se perfectionnant elle se rend invisible, s’efface, et permet à l’homme de vivre la ville comme un paysage construit, proposant une expérience sensorielle complète. Une ville qui n’est pas seulement performante du point de vue du développement durable, mais qui est le lieu où le plaisir de vivre ensemble renoue avec l’histoire de la cité comme lieu fondateur de la civilisation. Une ville qui pour cela doit s’ancrer dans la culture, le climat, la géographie.

    • 1.1.

      Le débat

    • 1.2.

      Propositions

      • 1.2.1.

        MINDWALKS

      • 1.2.2.

        LA GARE SENSUELLE

        T X T

        L’emprise de la gare sur la ville est appelée à s’étendre davantage, la gare s’imposant de nouveau comme un repère urbain. La gare sensuelle est le laboratoire de l’urbanité contemporaine, le lieu où s’expérimente de nouvelles façons d’être ensemble et de fabriquer le Grand Paris de demain. Nous voulons aller vers une gestion efficace des temps urbains. L’établissement d’un vaste réseau de transport en commun ne va pas seulement renforcer l’accessibilité des territoires en assurant un meilleur maillage. Il va radicalement reconfigurer la silhouette temporelle de la métropole parisienne.  Le Grand Paris des mobilités est celui qui aiguise le sens visuel, qui renouvelle la perception de l’environnement quotidien et ré enchante le paysage. C’est pourquoi nous sommes convaincus que la question du plaisir visuel doit être au cœur de l’approche qualitative de l’espace.Pour ses usagers, la gare apparait comme un espace capacitaire, répondant aux attentes des modes de vies très divers. Elle devient un espace d’information central sur l’activité culturelle, sportive et sociale des territoires, riches de ressources et d’opportunités. L’urbanité numérique ne doit pas se traduire  par une dématérialisation du rapport à l’espace, par un désintérêt pour la gare comme lieu matériel. Elle s’exprime au contraire par le besoin d’espace physique, par la volonté de rehausser les qualités sensibles des lieux d’accueil par l’usage de ses technologies. L’implantation de la dimension interactive dans l’architecture en modifiera la perception et l’expérience.

        Nous choisissons de mettre l’accent sur la dimension sensuelle des gares du Grand Paris : leur aura, l’émotion qu’elles suscitent, l’empreinte qu’elles laissent dans l’esprit, le récit qu’elles racontent. Pour nous, l’architecture et le design ne renvoient pas exclusivement à des choses mais à des ambiances partagées. Au-delà de l’espace bâti et des équipements des gares, il s’agit aussi de mettre en forme la lumière et les sons afin de créer un climat accueillant, rassurant, agréable.

        I M G
        V I D
      • 1.2.3.

        PAVILLON FRANCE EXPO 2010

      • 1.2.4.

        BELLE MEDITERRANÉE

      • 1.2.5.

        LES VILLES INVISIBLES

    • 1.3.

      Films

    • 1.4.

      Conférences

  • 2.

    Climat

  • 3.

    Paysages construits

  • 4.

    Au bord de l’eau

  • 5.

    Dans le ciel

  • 6.

    Mouvement et équilibre

  • 7.

    La nuit

  • 8.

    Matière des villes

  • 9.

    Actualités

  • 10.

    Informations

  • 11.

    Index