En Fr
  • 1.

    The Sensual City path

    Extending an approach we have taken in a number of urban projects, we consider that each urban situation provides an opportunity to explore a conceptual framework based on the way that people will inhabit the city of tomorrow. Our starting point is to examine current and potential future ways of living, working, travelling and consuming in the city. Our aim, prior to designing any forms, is to create an environment that permits diversity and changing uses, and to incorporate these into a specific geography and historical context. The intention is to replace a geometric urbanism with an urbanism based on atmospheres, materialities and context in a way that intermingles architecture and landscape. And that uses the most advanced technologies to create a sensual city.

    The Sensual City is a project that answers the urgent question of what urban planning should be both today and tomorrow. The urban culture developed in the 20th century is steadily expanding and over half the world’s population now lives in cities, a proportion that is continually increasing and causing functional problems on an unprecedented scale. It is a situation that threatens our planet’s resources, as well as the way we live together in cities.
    In the western world, there is a need to go beyond the traditional model of the historical urban model –European and American- , take a fresh look not only at the city core, but also at the suburbs, the infrastructure, the transportation systems… and accept that they represent a fully-fledged contemporary urban landscape. Throughout the world and on all continents, giant cities with over ten million inhabitants are taking form. In the 21st century, hundreds of millions of people will find themselves living in an exclusively urban environment, an artificial universe in which technology will be omnipresent. The modernist city, placing emphasis on infrastructures and zoning, will deploy its ordinary, internationalist architecture throughout the planet and mass-produce urban worlds completely lacking in quality. Elsewhere, cities find themselves governed by nostalgia ; there are many towns in Europe and North America that suffer from this fate.
    With the Sensual City, our intention is to develop an alternative approach, one in which technology is not obtrusive nor an end in itself. On the contrary, as technology is perfected it becomes invisible, it disappears from view and allows people to live in cities that can be construed as built landscapes, designed to offer a full sensorial experience. The city becomes an environment that incorporates a high level of sustainable development as well as a setting where people can take pleasure in living together and relate to its history as the founding source of civilization. To achieve these ends, it is essential that the city be deeply rooted to its specific culture, climate and geography.

    • 1.1.

      Debate

    • 1.2.

      Proposals

      • 1.2.1.

        A HISTORY OF THRESHOLDS: LIFE, DEATH & REBIRTH

      • 1.2.2.

        ARCHITECTURE AS NON-OPPRESSIVE DESIGN

      • 1.2.3.

        MINDWALKS

        T X T

        MiNDWALKS in Shanghai. For Shanghai is an experience, an image that you carry around with you. Far from the cliché of the generic city, this is a vibrant metropolis – as vibrant as its inhabitants. But in order to truly understand it, you have to discover it on foot, to go out on a limb and experience places in terms of their physicality. The various sensations, sounds, smells, sights, movements and contacts of these places wash over us, plunging us into a reality that becomes clearer with each step, conjuring an increasingly intense image as our journey continues. In these hitherto little-known neighbourhoods of Shanghai, stories seem ephemeral and eloquent, tracks and traces reveal themselves, figures become established – all of which are points of entry that offer us the opportunity, in turn, to form part  of the urban scene. Between August 17 and September 14, 2015, we went on eight walks, each taking place within a clearly defined area measuring 2,000 metres by 500 metres – that is, precisely one square kilometre. The aim was to immerse ourselves in a portion of Shanghai in order to absorb its atmospheres, images and stories, and recount them in a graphic narrative form. With this in mind, we invite you to discover eight maps of a new kind that combine characteristics of street plans, narratives and sensory maps. Their aim is not so much to objectively locate topographical elements as to recount how these places were experienced and portray their multiple dimensions: the rhythms, impressions, perceptions and representations associated with them. Here, subjectivity is a means of tempering the detachment between the metropolis and its inhabitants and promoting a more human form of urbanism – and reminding us that a city is perhaps nothing more than an emotion. Sensual City Book Publisher, R-Diffusion, 2016.

        [ + ] to buy the book online

        [ → ]

        I M G
      • 1.2.4.

        THE SENSUAL STATION

      • 1.2.5.

        FRENCH PAVILION SHANGHAI EXPO 2010

      • 1.2.6.

        BELLE MEDITERRANÉE

      • 1.2.7.

        INVISIBLE CITIES

    • 1.3.

      Films

    • 1.4.

      Conferences

  • 2.

    The climate

  • 3.

    Built landscapes

  • 4.

    On the waterside

  • 5.

    In the sky

  • 6.

    Movement and balance

  • 7.

    Nightscape

  • 8.

    The materiality of cities

  • 9.

    News

  • 10.

    Informations

  • 11.

    Index

En Fr
  • 1.

    La ville sensuelle

    Dans la continuité de la réflexion que nous avons menée sur les projets urbains sur lesquels nous avons travaillé, chaque situation urbaine est pour nous l’occasion d’explorer une démarche conceptuelle qui prend pour base la place de l’homme dans la ville de demain. Les modes actuels -et prochains- de déplacement, d’habiter, de travail, de consommation sont les points de départ de notre approche. Créer un cadre à la diversité et à l’évolution des usages, et l’inscrire dans une géographie et une histoire, est le préalable à toute formalisation. Il s’agit de remplacer l’urbanisme de géométrie par un urbanisme d’atmosphères, de matérialités, de contexte, mêlant architecture et paysage ; mobiliser les technologies de pointe pour créer une ville sensuelle.

    La Ville Sensuelle est un projet qui répond à la question urgente de ce que doit être l’urbanisme aujourd’hui. La culture urbaine dans laquelle l’homme s’est installé au 20ème siècle prend en effet une ampleur nouvelle. Plus de la moitié de la population mondiale vit actuellement dans des villes, proportion qui n’a de cesse de croître et qui entraîne des problèmes de fonctionnement à une échelle jamais vue jusqu’alors, et met en péril non seulement les ressources de notre planète mais aussi la vie collective dans la cité.
    En Europe il s’agit de dépasser le modèle de la ville historique, et porter un œil neuf sur la périphérie comme véritable paysage urbain contemporain. Ailleurs dans le monde, plusieurs cités géantes, au-delà de dix millions d’habitants, se déploient sur tous les continents. Au 21ème siècle, des centaines de millions d’habitants vont ainsi vivre dans le seul univers urbain, un univers artificiel dont la technologie sera l’omniprésente raison d’être. La ville moderniste, faisant la part belle aux infrastructures et au zoning, déploie son architecture banale et internationale aux quatre coins de la planète et fabrique à la chaîne des mondes urbains sans qualité. Ailleurs c’est la nostalgie qui l’emporte. La ville en France, n’échappe pas à la remise en cause. Chaque nouveau projet est donc une opportunité pour innover et être exemplaire La réflexion sur la Ville Sensuelle est de rendre possible une autre approche. Une approche où la technique n’est pas une fin en soi et ne s’impose pas. Au contraire, en se perfectionnant elle se rend invisible, s’efface, et permet à l’homme de vivre la ville comme un paysage construit, proposant une expérience sensorielle complète. Une ville qui n’est pas seulement performante du point de vue du développement durable, mais qui est le lieu où le plaisir de vivre ensemble renoue avec l’histoire de la cité comme lieu fondateur de la civilisation. Une ville qui pour cela doit s’ancrer dans la culture, le climat, la géographie.

    • 1.1.

      Le débat

    • 1.2.

      Propositions

      • 1.2.1.

        MINDWALKS

        T X T

        Promenades mentales à Shanghai. Parce que cette ville est une expérience et une image que l’on porte avec soi. Loin du cliché de la ville générique, elle est une métropole vibrante, à l’image de ses habitants. Pour le comprendre, il faut la parcourir à pied, s’y risquer avec son corps et faire l’épreuve des lieux dans leur matérialité. Les diverses sensations, bruits, odeurs, mouvements, images, effleurements, nous baignent dans une réalité qui s’esquisse pas à pas et se dessine avec plus d’intensité au fur et à mesure de notre promenade. Dans ces quartiers de Shanghai, jusqu’alors méconnus, des histoires apparaissent fugaces ou prégnantes, des traces se révèlent,  des figures s’imposent : elles sont autant de points d’entrée qui nous donnent l’opportunité de faire à notre tour partie de la scène urbaine. Entre (tel temps et tel temps), nous avons fait 8 promenades, chacune au sein d’un espace clairement délimité de 2000m par 500m, soit très exactement 1km². L’enjeu était de s’immerger dans une portion de Shanghai pour s’imprégner de ses ambiances, de ses images, de ses histoires et de les restituer sous forme graphique et narrative. Nous vous proposons 8 cartes d’un genre nouveau qui relèvent à la fois du plan, du récit et de la carte sensible. Elles visent moins à situer des éléments topographiques de façon objective qu’à rendre compte de l’expérience vécue et de ses multiples dimensions : le rythme, les impressions, les perceptions et les représentations qui lui sont associées. La subjectivité est ici un moyen de conjurer le détachement entre la métropole et ses habitants, de promouvoir un urbanisme à visage humain. Et de rappeler qu’une ville n’est peut-être rien d’autre qu’une émotion. Editions Sensual City Book, R-Diffusion, 2016.

        [ + ] pour acheter le livre en ligne

        I M G
      • 1.2.2.

        LA GARE SENSUELLE

      • 1.2.3.

        PAVILLON FRANCE EXPO 2010

      • 1.2.4.

        BELLE MEDITERRANÉE

      • 1.2.5.

        LES VILLES INVISIBLES

    • 1.3.

      Films

    • 1.4.

      Conférences

  • 2.

    Climat

  • 3.

    Paysages construits

  • 4.

    Au bord de l’eau

  • 5.

    Dans le ciel

  • 6.

    Mouvement et équilibre

  • 7.

    La nuit

  • 8.

    Matière des villes

  • 9.

    Actualités

  • 10.

    Informations

  • 11.

    Index